Chemotherapy Cycle 5 & 6 (recap)

I went into this cycle following a great time camping with the other families from our Life Group and the day after having a blast at a friend’s wedding.  I was not particularly excited to go into chemo but knowing that I only had 2 treatments left made it much easier, kind of like “It’s all downhill from here”.

At this treatment my oncologist decided that I would be receiving the full dose, remember following my first treatment they had placed my dose at 85%.  Side note: chemotherapy dosing is based on weight and height (I think one of my drugs also takes age into consideration); some people need a higher then ‘standard’ dose, some people need a lower dose; the oncologist will determine what the patient should be receiving.  So I received 100% dose for Cycle 1; I experienced pretty much every side effect that one can have, it was a very rough cycle; Cycles 2-4 were dosed at 85%; I had a lot of side effects but between the lower dose and learning how to manage my meds I was able to navigate the Cycles with the effects fairly well managed.  Needless to say when I was told that they were going to be returning my dose to 100% I was nervous, actually I was pretty scared.  But, as everyone (nurses and Docs) reminded me “we’re going for cure, so let’s throw everything at it” that got me on board with the dosage change.

Overall, the cycle wasn’t bad.  My anti-nausea med schedule was changed and that helped a bit with the increased nausea, I also began taking an oral anti-viral to try to decrease the mouth sores, while I still had pretty nasty sores it helped make the duration of them a bit shorter (Yay!).  What was challenging is that this cycle really showed the cumulative affect of the chemo.  The nausea was more intense and lasted quite a bit longer; my fatigue was much more and again lasted longer; I’m began to see changes in my nails; and my eyes have gotten a bit more watery (kinda like our eyes water on windy days).  As I said my meds really helped to manage most of these affects, though there’s not much that can be done about my nails and the watery eyes.  The previous cycles left me feeling decent and improving quickly after 7-9 days, this cycle was more like 10-14 days.  I was laughing with another chemo buddy (this woman and I are on similar cocktails and the same treatment schedule) that we come into treatment happy, laughing, and feeling good, somehow “forgetting” that we’ll feel like crap in a day or two.  How resilient are our minds?

Cycle 6 was much the same as 5 with more intense and longer side effects.  I was nervous knowing that surgery was approaching and I wanted to be as healthy as possible.  I’ve added probiotics and drank more water than I thought humanly possible (in addition to receiving hydration early in the cycle).  Thankfully the anti-nausea meds seemed to work their best and I was able to eat something during the entire cycle, it is very difficult to eat with mouth sores but I managed with some soups and eggs.  All of this seemed to work well so that three weeks after my last chemo treatment I was able to have my surgery.

The worst of the chemo is DONE!!  Thanks for following along with my treatments.  I’ll be on Herceptin, a chemo drug that carries few side effects, for another 8 months and I’ll begin Tamoxifen shortly.  Both these drugs are geared at reducing my risk of recurrence, they carry fewer side effects than ‘standard’ chemo so I can begin the long road of regaining my strength and health.

Leave a Reply

