An update and some FANTASTIC news

I had my ‘are-you-alive’ appointment with my oncologist yesterday and I am alive. My counts are good, so that means that my white blood cells and red blood cells are hanging in there and not dropping to scary low levels.  I received 1 liter of fluids and will receive another liter tomorrow (Weds).

I posted an update and asked for prayer for a few areas, over the weekend the mouth sores were really awful, and the migraines continued.  Sunday was a particularly hard day, I couldn’t keep food down and almost everything made me nauseous.  However, in the evening we saw things turning for the mouth sores and I woke up Monday with a significantly healed mouth!  The healing continued through the day yesterday and this morning things are much improved, not quite 100% but very close.  I still have some headache pain but we are working to get that better managed and I’m confident that the next cycle will have fewer migraines.  In short I’ve experienced pretty much all of the side effects they say might happen, except hair loss I have my hair still ;).  So this is prompting my oncologist to change my dosing next cycle.  For the first cycle I received a ‘loading’ or double dose of herceptin and perjeta and a regular dose of taxotere and carboplatin.  For the 2nd cycle I will receive a normal dose of herceptin and perjeta and a 15% reduced dose of taxotere and carboplatin.  This should help to make the chemo more tolerable for my body, but still not tolerable for the cancer cells.

Did I say something earlier about FANTASTIC news??  Why yes, I did.  And since I believe in not overusing CAPS the news we have it truly fantastic!!!  It’s two fold so the older news first.
We received the results back from the biopsy that I had on 4/4.  To recap they tested three spots, it was supposed to be two but they could get the third with the same incision.  One spot was on my left breast (my right breast has the cancer) and that came back CLEAN, no cancer. YAY!!  The other two spots were on my right breast, one in the 9/10 o’clock position and one was the axilary tail lymph node (which means its a lymph node thats really low or further away from my arm pit).  So the mass at the 9/10 position came back positive for cancer.  It is the same type as the original spot, but this doesn’t change my staging or treatment plan, it just means the chemo has a few more cells to kill off.  But the lymph node came back CLEAN!!!  This is fantastic news, it means for surgery they will do a sentinel node test (a few select nodes) to see if they are affected, if they are not then it could mean that I will not have to go through radiation.
And we have more good news, I can hardly stand it.  I’ve been feeling the initial lump for the last week and I keep telling Matt “It’s getting smaller.  It’s getting smaller.”.  When we saw the Doctor yesterday she confirmed that the mass is indeed getting smaller, so the chemo may be taking out the mucus membranes on my mouth but it’s also taking out the cancer cells.  They are dying!!!

This has been a hard week and we have 5 more cycles of treatment to go but it’s so encouraging to know that this is working, and to hear the words of encouragement from all those supporting and caring and praying for us.  I know that God heals, He healed my mouth and throat.  I know that God uses many ways and means to heal us in all areas of our lives.  And I know that He is carrying us as we walk through this process, for when we are weak He is strong and is our strength.  I want to thank each of you, for helping us to feel God’s arms in tangible ways.

Love, Hope, and Laughter!!

5 thoughts on “An update and some FANTASTIC news

Leave a Reply

