Chemotherapy

I’m a few days into my chemo treatment and, in my opinion, things are going well. I’m not feeling real great but, I could be feeling far worse.  I began blogging about this experience in part for a way of processing through things, in part so we could easily keep people up to date on how we are and what is happening, and in part because I believe in living authentically with a transparency that allows others into my life.  This isn’t something that comes easily, that whole being vulnerable thing is scary and risky but I’ve come to believe that it’s the best way to live.  So, I’m writing this post because chemo is crappy and I’m feeling really crappy and I know that we have so many friends, family, and strangers praying for us that I want to ask for prayer because there is power in prayer.

Chemotherapy is a pretty amazing medical development, it’s a set of drugs that targets the fast growing cancer cells in the body and it kills them (YAY!!!).  The downside comes with the fact that cancer cells are not the only fast growing cells, mucus membranes, our GI track, hair, skin all have fast growing cells.  So chemo patients often will experience hair loss, skin issues, mouth and throat sores, GI issues, etc.  I’m in the midst of experiencing several of these issues and though these are going on I need to note that overall I feel alright, I have some energy and I don’t feel like zombie (yay!).  That said I’ve been having some pretty severe headaches (migraines) these have not been particularly responsive to the meds that I’ve been taking thus far.  I have the mouth sores, these are annoying and so completely weird to me, they aren’t really painful but they are uncomfortable and totally impact my sense of taste (big sad face), I’m also realizing I need to be careful what I eat to avoid making them worse; there’s something going on with my GI track as my throat feels tighter (I can feel my swallowing more than normal) and my stomach is more easily upset, note on the throat, it’s not closing just tight.   Along with that is some general body pain, it seems to be kind of set up like an alarm clock and if I’m up past 9:30pm the pain kicks in, so I’ll be going to bed earlier.  Lastly, in a stroke of awesomeness the nausea has not been too bad, the exception being when I decide that I don’t need my anti-nausea meds, rookie mistake that I won’t make again.  We have an appointment with my oncologist on Monday, she calls it her “are-you-alive” appointment, and will be asking about all of the above things, there are some treatments that can help and some may just be part of chemo, either way I feel certain the chemo will kill the cancer and not me. 🙂

I am not sharing this because I want sympathy or a pity party, I don’t, I still hold to the thought that I’m tolerating the meds fairly well and that things could be a LOT worse.  I share this info because I know many of you are carrying us in prayer and these are specific ways you can pray for us, specific needs that we have right now.  For those that don’t pray you can hold us in your thoughts and wishes.  My Father-in-law shared a passage of the Old Testament with me that I’ve been holding to as I’m walking this, it’s from Isaiah 43
“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine.
When you pass through the waters,
I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze.”

Thank you for walking with us, for caring for us, and for supporting us!!  We have a ways to go but we’re down one treatment and almost a week closer to being done, and in the scheme of life, this is a very short period of time.  We have TONS to be grateful for and plenty to laugh about, and we are overwhelmed with HOPE.

Love, Hope, and Laughter to you all!!

3 thoughts on “Chemotherapy

  1. Thank you for sharing so honestly in your journey. You are making an impact in people’s lives and God is using you through this crazy experience. Praying for you, Matt and the girls.

  2. faith says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey and for being vulnerable. I appreciate being able to focus prayer where it is needed. I know you got this and will be victorious. As always if you need anything I am here.

  3. Heather says:

    Love, love, love that Isaiah passage… interesting to note (and hold onto for dear life), “won’t be burned” doesn’t mean not changed or feeling pain… it means ruined. God knows the exact temperature of the flame… it is perfectly suited to refine, perfect. He is not careless, unaware or forgetful (maybe His flamethrower has a timer? lol). Praying that you will be aware of His mercy in the midst of the fire… that He will send ministers and surprising moments of laughter and joy… that somehow, in the midst of what might look like poor planning or a lack of attention on His part, He will be glorified… and you will see it.

Leave a Reply

