Killer boobs…

I’m going to jump right into this because that’s really the only way I know how to do things.

On February 16th I found a lump in my right breast, nothing huge but it was noticeable. About one week later I had an appointment for a diagnostic mammogram and ultrasound.  During that week I figured this was nothing to worry about, lots of women have little lumps and bumps that turn out to be of no concern.  While I was at the appointment things went along normally, I was told that depending on what the radiologist saw I might just talk to a nurse about the findings.  I knew things took a different turn when the ultrasound tech said that the radiologist would talk with me about what they were seeing; the turn became even bigger when I was brought to the really nice waiting room; I knew that we had changed roads when the radiologist came into the room with a “Nurse Care Coordinator”.  “Crap” was my thought when she introduced herself.  We spoke about my need to have a biopsy to determine the exact nature of the lump.

From there time sped up and stood still.  We met with a surgeon and had a biopsy later in the week.  Our surgeon gave us a good picture of the different options we would have depending on the biopsy results.  I think this made a big difference for us when we received the call on Tuesday telling us that the biopsy showed that the mass is cancerous.  I felt somewhat prepared by already knowing some of the options I have and some of the next steps in the process.

Yesterday (Fri 3/7) we met with the surgeon again to discuss specifics.  The cancer that I have is invasive ductal carcinoma; it is a MSBR grade 3 (this is different from the stage) which means it is an aggressive form of cancer.  It tested positive for estrogen and progesterone receptors, we are waiting to see if it is also positive for another receptor, receptors can impact treatment and provide me with more options for care.  My lymph nodes appear clear and the tumor is 2.4cm so I have stage 2 cancer.  This is considered highly treatable and curable.

The next steps involve screening for the BRCA gene, I had the blood drawn yesterday so that is in process and will take a few weeks.  I will also have an MRI to get a better picture of the tumor and lymph nodes to confirm size and status a bit more clearly.  We will be meeting with an oncologist and plastic surgeon in the next 2 weeks, as well as a geneticist to discuss the BRCA results.  As of now I will be having surgery in the next month or so, depending on how quickly we can schedule appointments and follow-ups.

I feel pretty much the same as I always have so I have good energy levels and I’m not sick at all… well aside from the cancer. 😉  I feel very comfortable with the surgeon that I have, she is young and understands my perspective and is very competent.  I’m scared to be facing cancer at 36 and I’m definitely nervous about surgery and treatment, especially since I am fairly squeamish; as in I fainted before the biopsy, but that’s a story for another post; and there will be incisions, drains, spacers, and all sorts of other “squeam” inducing things. (UGH) I’m pretty sure that we have a bit of shock going on and I think things will sink in as we get closer to surgery.  I will keep living and having fun with life, for example I fully intend to have a wicked fun haircut before surgery and beginning chemo.  I am comforted by the care, prayers, and support that we are already receiving from family and friends.  Finally and most importantly I have a peace from God that he is carrying us through this, that this will be a chapter of my/our story that will have a positive impact on my/our life and for those around us.  The passage Romans 5:1-5 keeps coming to mind, here’s verses 2-5 from The Message “There’s more to come: We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us, and how that patience in turn forges the tempered steel of virtue, keeping us alert for whatever God will do next. In alert expectancy such as this, we’re never left feeling shortchanged. Quite the contrary—we can’t round up enough containers to hold everything God generously pours into our lives through the Holy Spirit!

When 2014 began I sort of ‘claimed’ Oceans by Hillsong UNITED as my hope for the year, it’s pretty much perfect for where I am now.  Here’s the song in case you aren’t familiar with it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1m_sWJQm2fs

Please pray for wisdom for the Doctors involved and for us as we face decisions regarding treatment and care.

Love, hope, and laughter to you all!!

21 thoughts on “Killer boobs…

  1. Mary Cate says:

    ❤ lots of love, hugs, and prayers…sad you joined the super exclusive cancer club…but you'll find lots of support in it!

  2. Robin says:

    Carey we are praying for all of you! We love you guys…you can do this! It seems so hard, overwhelming and some days insurmountable BUT God will give you what you need for each day of this journey. He not only will be with you but our prayer is that He will use each one of us to pray, to hold you up, encourage you and support you.

  3. Robin Ives says:

    Carey & Matt – I am sending your hope, prayers and courage. And yes I will pray for wisdom for the doctor as well…… This is a long road and I am glad you have faith and you are feeling good. I will be reading…….. hugs!!

  4. I am so shocked by this news Carey and will continue to lift you and your family up in prayer. On the bright side (which it certainly seems you’re striving to take hold of) you’re going to have a slammin’ haircut to go along with your new snazzy glasses. Peace and love to you, Matt, and the girls. ~Mel

  5. Sally Weigand says:

    Shock may still be in there but your outlook is great….prayers definitely for you, Matt and the girls along with the doctors…you can do this!!!

  6. Michele Lane says:

    You are a strong woman and a strong woman of faith! It is not always easy to take the back seat in
    Life and not have control…….but knowing that God has control helps. Please don’t hesitate to call if you need anything. You have done sooooooo much for my family from bills accident to this day, and I don’t know tht I can ever really express in words how much you and Matt mean to us. We will be in continuous prayer!

  7. Diana and Rick Rush says:

    Wow isn’t it amazing how quickly life can take a turn here, a twist there. We feel sorry that you have to go thru this journey in life…but as we have found out in such instances, it can make you stronger and also it ends up helping someone else further along down the road of life. We will be praying for you, Matt and the girls, your family and for wisdom for the doctors as well as wisdom for you and Matt as you make the proper surgery option decisions. Praying that you will continue to feel Gods presence and peace in the next days, weeks and months. Love Diana and Rick Rush

  8. Dustin Everhardt says:

    Um, Carey…I think cancer messed with the wrong woman this time. I have a feeling it doesn’t stand a chance, but I’ll remain prayerful for you, Matt and the (not so) little ones just for good measure. Rest easy, Carey.

  9. Monica & Peter Murdy says:

    Peter and I will be praying for you, your family, and for your healing through the treatment God is providing! May you have an acute sense of God’s presence and love in the days ahead with all that they will entail. Underneath are the everlasting arms!

  10. Rebecca Lugthart says:

    Love you, Carey. Please contact me if you need anything. Anything at all. I can share anything we learned through mom’s journey. Xoxo

  11. Linda Wright says:

    I am praying for you and your family to be strong in Christ through this season. Love to you from the Wrights.

  12. Thanks for sharing this with us… I will be praying and please let me know if you need anything. You sound like you have a great perspective and attitude on this and I know that is God giving you presence of mind and peace… may He continue to provide for you in UNIMAGINABLE ways!!!!

  13. Kathy Kelley says:

    Hey Carey
    This is Kathy Kelley – Wes Kelley’s (Wiremold) wife. We just wanted to tell you that we are so impressed with your positive attitude and strong faith. There is a wonderful book I want to recommend. You may already have it. It is called “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young. It is a daily devotional book. It came about from the prayer journal that the author kept in her daily prayer. It is written as Jesus speaking to you directly. It has a short meditation backed up by scripture for each day of the year. I have to tell you this little book has changed my life. I have done a lot of spiritual reading and study and this book is one of the most powerful I have ever read. It hits you right where you live every single day. It’s truly amazing. One tip though – there are several different versions. I like the version that has the entire scripture references written out rather just the chapter and verse.
    Please know that Wes and I will keep you in our prayers. Also a scripture passage you might want to check out is Jeremiah 29:11-14. It’s all about God’s plan for us – with a future full of hope and how when we seek Him with all our hearts – we will find Him with us and He will change our lives.
    Keep up the good work and stay “strong and steadfast” in your love for the Lord and you will definitely have the strength and courage to get through this and as you say – all those around you will be blessed by your attitude and peace. Also thanks for the song. Hadn’t heard it before and I love it. It is perfect for you right now.

    • Kathy, Thank you so much!! I LOVE Jesus Calling! A friend introduced me to it in college and it’s been very dear to me since then. Our church actually has a class on it that will be running for the next 10 weeks, I just think it’s such perfect timing. God works in so many ways.
      Thanks for following my story and holding us in prayer as we walk this new path. Love, hope, and laughter!

  14. Jen C says:

    Carey- We will be praying for you. You’ve got such an awesome positive attitude and I can totally see you kicking cancer’s butt. But if things get tough, know that you’ve got a lot of folks supporting you. If there’s anything we can do to help, we will, so don’t hesitate to ask. It’s tough times like this that really refine us and strength our walk with God. Philippians 4:6-7 has gotten me through the tough times in my pregnancies and I will be praying that peace for you and Matt and the kids. {HUGS}

Leave a Reply

