New Year, New Starts?

Just when I’m starting to get used to write 2010 (I don’t write the date that often apparently) its going to become 2011.  Maybe I should just start writing 2012 and I’ll settle on 2011 for the year… 🙂

I find the change of the year to be a thing of new starts or fresh starts.  Kind of like a reset button for life.  But I really think that is somewhat a mental thing because nothing magical happens at midnight tonight.  Its just a time and date that was settled on a few years back, or many years back as the case may be.  It isn’t actually a reset button for life.  The joys and hurts of today will remain tomorrow.  I think its easier to look ahead when something is beginning rather than in the middle or end.  Perhaps we tend to look backward more than forwards when something is drawing to a close.

I’m not one for resolutions but I think this year I want to try to keep my gaze forward.  Looking to what has yet to be fulfilled in my life and the lives of those around me.  Rather than looking behind and wishing or hoping that I had done better or differently.  I want to strive to learn from my past and grow from it but live in the present and prepare (to the best of my ability) for the future.

Leave a Reply

