Skipping Thanksgiving

When  I started this blog I fully intended on writing often.  I was pretty confident that I would not write daily but I found myself hoping to write a few times a week.  I have a ways to go.

Thanksgiving was about 1.5 weeks ago and we are full into Advent and all the preparations for Christmas but I want to revisit Thanksgiving.  This season is my favorite time of year, beginning with Thanksgiving and continuing through Christmas and the New Year.  So here is my little “I’m thankful for…” list.

I’m Thankful for …

my family. This begins with my husband, continues on to my littles and extends to my parents, sibling(s), in-laws, nieces and nephew, etc.  My family is amazing.  They are smart, funny, punny, creative, inspiring, forgiving, gracious, loving, nurturing and mine.  And I love them.

my friends.  Every one of them make my life more full and rich.  They show me new things about myself, they listen and empathize and encourage.

my home.  Its over 100 years old, probably more like 150 years.  It has little drafts and all the quirks that come with old homes.  But it also has tin ceilings, a cool front porch, a great yard, some new flower beds (put in by me), a large kitchen, a coziness that comes with age.  These walls have survived the Great Depression, 2 World Wars, probably the Civil War and the abolition of slavery.  They have protected families from hurricanes, nor’easters, snow, rain, hail, wind, sun and heat.  I have more in my old cracked home than most people in the world.  I am thankful for these walls and I would love to hear the stories they could tell.

my life.  Life is a precious gift, it can be hard and painful but it can also be glorious and beautiful.  It is always precious and sacred.

There is so much more that I could list but those are the big things.  Now to carry those with me into Christmas.

Leave a Reply

